Automotive photography by Willem Wittenberg

2014 ERC Ypres Rally

2014 ERC Ypres Rally
2014 ERC Ypres Rally





 19-21 June, Ypres


Final Results 2014 ERC Ypres Rally :

1. Freddy Loix
2. Cedric Cherain
3. Sepp Wiegand
4. Hermen Kobus
5. Luca Rossetti

6. Davy Vanneste
7. Andy Lefevere
8. Didier Doquesne
9. Melissa Debackere
10. Jaroslav Orsak

Photo Gallery

Freddy Loix is one victory away from making it 10 Geko Ypres Rally wins following a dramatic climax to Belgium’s FIA European Rally Championship qualifier, which celebrated its 50th anniversary in glorious sunshine today and with thousands of fans lining the challenging route.

The nine-time winner started Saturday’s final leg trailing Kevin Abbring by 24.8 seconds but moved in front when the Dutchman retired his Peugeot 208T16 with a mechanical failure on stage 13 across the border in France. And Loix, whose ŠKODA Fabia Super 2000 was co-driven by fellow Belgian Johan Gitsels, marked his win – the fifth for ŠKODA in Ypres – by confirming that he will return to the Tarmac spectacular next year to bid for a 10th triumph.

“It’s incredible and I think it will take a long time before someone else will do this,” said Loix. “I was really missing the battle with Kevin this afternoon because it was a pleasure to fight for tenths of a second with Kevin and the other drivers rather than just controlling the final six stages. But I’m very happy and the target is to come back to try to win for a 10th time. Then it could be time to stop and give the young boys who pushed me a lot this weekend a chance to win.”

Abbring gained some consolation by landing the prestigious Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy for his charging display and nine stage wins. “I’m still proud of my performance on my first time here in a four-wheeldrive car and I’ve gained some confidence for the future,” said the Dutchman. “It’s a shame we retired but I’ve driven without mistakes and the car has been fantastic. I really appreciated the fight with Freddy and I was still able to enjoy the rally.”

Elsewhere, it was a double first for Belgium’s Cédric Cherain, who scored his maiden ERC podium and his first in Ypres in second place in a Ford Fiesta R5, with Sepp Wiegand finishing as the best Ypres rookie in third for ŠKODA AUTO Deutschland on his first ERC start since he finished second on April’s Discover Northern Ireland Circuit of Ireland Rally. Hermen Kobus finished fourth with triple European champion Luca Rossetti taking fifth after he battled back from his dramatic trip into a ditch on Friday, which was caused when he picked up a puncture striking a rock.

Meanwhile, the ERC Junior Championship produced a breath-taking final-stage showdown between Andrea Crugnola and Stéphane Lefebvre who finished the event tied on time following almost 300 kilometres of serious competition. Lefebvre took the victory due to the fact he was fastest in class on the opening stage although it could have been a different story when the bonnet of his Peugeot 208 R2 flew open at the first corner and he drove through the closing 27.56-kilometre stage relying on co-driver Thomas Dubois’ pacenotes after his vision was obscured.

In the race for the coveted ERC title, Esapekka Lappi continues to head Craig Breen in the standings despite a car-wrecking crash on stage nine. The Finn and co-driver Janne Ferm were taken to hospital for precautionary checks but were later given the all clear. Breen also retired after myriad technical issues struck his 208T16. Lappi’s lead over Breen is now 33 points at the halfway point in the season, while his solitary stage win ensures he still tops the ERC Asphalt Masters.

Former Super 2000 world champion Xevi Pons retired his Fiesta R5 in a ditch on stage nine, while Pieter Tsjoen’s hopes of a top 10 finish ended in a ditch on stage 16. Neil Simpson was in the top 10 when he went off the road on stage 14. Antonín Tlusťák rolled into retirement on stage 11 but Melissa Debackere battled to the finish in ninth amid fears an overheating engine would force her exit. Jaroslav Orsák completed the top 10 by two-tenths of a second, while a persistent fuel system problem prevented Vincent Verschueren from giving the Citroën DS3 R5 a debut ERC finish.

Source: ERC

© 2007 - 2015 RSSP

Sitemap Home About Contact

Highslide for Wordpress Plugin